Browse retained source-linked reports in reverse chronological order. Older event dates describe when a report says something happened, not when this site published it. Page 11.
Jordan · Levant · Context
Officials, international partners and bus operators discussed public-transport electrification in Jordan, Petra reports. A GGGI representative cited import costs, limited technology knowledge and the absence of a national bus technical standard as barriers. Operators called for financing and fleet-renewal support. The dialogue formed part of an existing EU-supported green-transition programme; it did not announce a new bus rollout.
Source published: 22 Sep 2026 17:44 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Jordan News Agency (Petra) source ↗
Jordan · Levant · Context
The Mobile Children's Museum has received support from Jordan Phosphate Mines Company for its travelling programme and Human Body exhibit, Petra reports, citing a museum statement. The museum says its free educational activities reached every governorate and attracted more than 42,000 visitors within one year. The report does not specify the funding amount or independently assess learning outcomes.
Source published: 22 Sep 2026 14:03 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Jordan News Agency (Petra) source ↗
Kuwait · Gulf · Context
Kuwaiti officials told KUNA that a framework approved in 2026 will measure government environmental performance using 14 indicators. Reporting will cover resource use, waste and recycling, among other measures. Officials expect annual-report preparation to begin in early 2027, with submissions in 2028. These are implementation plans, not demonstrated emissions reductions.
Source published: 22 Sep 2026 13:48 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Syrian Arab News Agency (SANA) source ↗
Jordan · Levant · Context
Jordan has launched grants for eligible voluntary-sector organizations to establish or improve childcare centres, Petra reports. Support can cover facilities, equipment and early-childhood materials; existing centres may apply for up to two additional branches. Officials say underserved areas will take priority and describe women's economic participation as an intended benefit.
Source published: 22 Sep 2026 13:21 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Jordan News Agency (Petra) source ↗
Syria · Levant · Context
Organizers told SANA that a three-day initiative launched September 22 aims to provide hearing assessments and 206 hearing aids for more than 160 children. The programme also includes planned follow-up and device maintenance. The figures describe the initiative's intended provision, not a verified count of completed fittings.
Source published: 22 Sep 2026 13:13 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Syrian Arab News Agency (SANA) source ↗
Cyprus · Eastern Mediterranean · Context
Limassol municipality says its hygiene service collected 24,700 tonnes of waste over 2024–2025, according to Cyprus Mail. The retrospective includes mixed and bulky waste and material cleared from plots. The municipality also says further targeted cleanup campaigns are planned.
Source published: 22 Sep 2026 11:39 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Cyprus Mail source ↗
Cyprus · Eastern Mediterranean · Context
Cyprus Mail reports that Eurostat's 2025 figures put employment in Cyprus's sport sector at about 4,400 people. The newspaper says the estimate for workers aged 65 or over was withheld because of low reliability. An unpublished age-group figure does not mean there were no older workers.
Source published: 22 Sep 2026 09:57 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Cyprus Mail source ↗
Syria · Levant · Context
SANA quotes Deir Ezzor officials describing a project intended to remove and recycle eight million cubic metres of rubble over 18 months. The account says work remains in a pilot phase below planned daily capacity. This is an attributed reconstruction target, not a completed clearance total or assurance that damaged areas are safe.
Source published: 22 Sep 2026 07:57 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
SANA source ↗
Syria · Levant · Context
SANA quotes agriculture department head Hossam Kharita as estimating a 60,000-ton apple crop in Zabadani and Serghaya, up from an initial 45,000-ton estimate. Its interview with a grower describes weak prices and rising storage and marketing costs. The production total remains a forecast, not a completed harvest tally.
Source published: 22 Sep 2026 07:31 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
SANA source ↗
Syria · Levant · Context
SANA, citing Tartous Governorate, reports that Governor Ahmad al-Shami and Turkish municipal-union president Ahmed Aras discussed urban planning and wastewater services in Damascus. The account says they agreed to establish working groups and follow-up meetings. It does not establish construction contracts, funding or completed service improvements.
Source published: 22 Sep 2026 06:34 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
SANA source ↗
Syria · Levant · Context
SANA reports that a four-day bazaar programme in Qara and Yabroud is showcasing food, handicrafts and home-based businesses. Organizers report 107 women participating across the two towns. They describe the events as opportunities to reach customers; the report provides no measured sales or income gains.
Source published: 22 Sep 2026 06:13 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
SANA source ↗
Jordan · Levant · Context
SANA reports that Syria's central bank governor Mohammad Safwat Raslan and Union of Arab Banks secretary-general Wissam Fattouh discussed financial legislation and a possible association for banks operating in Syria. Their meeting took place in Amman alongside a regional investment conference. The report describes discussions, not a new institution or enacted banking rules.
Source published: 21 Sep 2026 20:40 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
SANA source ↗
Cyprus · Eastern Mediterranean · Context
Cyprus Mail reports that CTP leader Sila Usar Incirli presented a municipal manifesto focused on accountability, accessible services, social support, environmental resilience and local production. UBP leader Unal Ustel separately promised childcare support and other benefits for families if re-elected. These add to the existing campaign-pledges signal; they are not funded programmes, enacted entitlements or verified improvements in public services.
Source published: 21 Sep 2026 18:58 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Cyprus Mail source ↗
Cyprus · Eastern Mediterranean · Context
Cyprus Mail reports that MPs challenged a €146,000 request for software linking identity records with unpaid traffic fines. Lawmakers questioned its cost and proposed use involving Turkish Cypriots, and sought an explanation of existing enforcement problems. The finance committee is to continue discussion next week; deployment is not established.
Source published: 21 Sep 2026 16:17 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Cyprus Mail source ↗
Iraq · Mesopotamia · Context
Nineveh Governor Abdul Qadir al-Dakhil told Shafaq that a government committee has completed requirements for selecting an international operator for Mosul airport. He said the documents would go to Iraq’s cabinet for approval. No approval, awarded contract or new opening date is established.
Source published: 21 Sep 2026 15:42 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Shafaq News source ↗
Iraq · Mesopotamia · Watch
Iraq's Electricity Ministry has ordered station controllers to complete training within six months following its investigation into a September 14 accident, Shafaq reports. The outlet also reports formal warnings for six officials. These are reported administrative measures, not independently established findings of individual responsibility.
Source published: 21 Sep 2026 15:05 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Shafaq News source ↗
Iraq · Mesopotamia · Watch
Shafaq reports new interviews on Prime Minister Ali al-Zaidi's instruction requiring prior approval for officials' and advisers' media appearances. Journalists' union spokesperson Hadi Jallo Mari warns against excessive restrictions on access to information. Other interviewees support coordinating official statements to avoid conflicting accounts.
Source published: 21 Sep 2026 12:16 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Shafaq News source ↗
Iraq · Mesopotamia · Context
The Supreme Judicial Council says a Baghdad court recovered 51 billion Iraqi dinars for state-owned Rafidain Bank in a financial and administrative corruption case, Shafaq News reports. The council says legal proceedings are continuing; the report does not establish final convictions.
Source published: 21 Sep 2026 12:16 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Shafaq News source ↗
Jordan · Levant · Context
Jordan's Public Works and Housing Ministry has announced four school-construction tenders in Madaba, Balqa, Ajloun and Amman, Petra reports. Their combined estimated value is JD8.689 million, financed through a Kuwait Fund loan programme in cooperation with the Education Ministry.
Source published: 21 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Jordan News Agency (Petra) source ↗
Jordan · Levant · Context
Petra reports FAO workshops and field training for farmers in Tafileh and Maan on reclaimed water, irrigation and water-quality safeguards. The activities involved 50 farmers and civil-society representatives as part of a Green Climate Fund-supported agricultural resilience project.
Source published: 21 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Single source
Jordan News Agency (Petra) source ↗
Jordan · Red Sea · Context
Petra reports that Aqaba authorities and the Swiss embassy launched a second Voices of Coral programme on September 21. Twelve Jordanian and Swiss artists are to turn marine-environment research and experiences into artworks for a later public exhibition. Organizers describe the project as coral-awareness outreach, not a measured conservation result.
Event: 21 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Jordan News Agency (Petra) source ↗
Cyprus · Eastern Mediterranean · Watch
Cyprus Mail now reports Labour Minister Marinos Mousiouttas's deadline for a first pension bill as October 8, rather than the end-September timetable previously reported. January 1 remains his implementation target. Peo continues to question whether the proposed increases would protect all pensioners from poverty.
Source published: 21 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Cyprus Mail source ↗
Cyprus · Eastern Mediterranean · Context
The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens welcomed the first students at its Nicosia branch on September 21, Cyprus Mail reports. The university said teaching had begun in medicine and primary education, with psychology, economics and nursing due to follow the next week. The development expands the institution's presence in Cyprus; the report does not establish enrolment totals or educational outcomes.
Event: 21 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Cyprus Mail source ↗
Iraq · Mesopotamia · Context
Rasheed Bank has announced renewable-energy loans of up to 30 million Iraqi dinars, Shafaq News reports. The bank describes terms of up to seven years at 3% annual interest, with a grace period of up to six months and financing from the Central Bank of Iraq.
Source published: 20 Sep 2026 11:37 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Shafaq News source ↗
Oman · Arabian Peninsula · Context
A newly reported National Centre for Statistics and Information survey estimates Oman's 2025 research and development spending at RO189.42 million, according to ONA. The survey assigns 46% of spending to the private sector, 31% to government and 23% to higher education.
Source published: 20 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Oman News Agency via Oman Observer source ↗
Oman · Arabian Peninsula · Context
Oman News Agency reports that Dhofar's education director described roughly RO19.224 million in school construction, expansion and maintenance projects. The programme includes 16 school expansions. Projects are at different stages, with some completed and others awaiting implementation or budget procedures.
Source published: 20 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Oman News Agency via Oman Observer source ↗
Oman · Arabian Peninsula · Context
Oman's procurement authority and Health Ministry have launched a feature on the Amana platform for cardiac-surgery supplies, according to ONA. Officials say framework contracts covering 229 products from 23 local suppliers can reduce order processing from 45–120 days to 24–48 hours.
Source published: 20 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Oman News Agency via Oman Observer source ↗
Iran · Iranian Plateau · Watch
France's Foreign Ministry says Iranian authorities announced the closure of the French language centre in Tehran and says it will summon Iran's ambassador. Shafaq reports that Iranian authorities alleged licensing and other violations. Those allegations are not independently established by the linked evidence.
Source published: 20 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
France Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs source ↗
Cyprus · Eastern Mediterranean · Context
Children modelled ideas for more trees, play areas and welcoming public spaces at a September 20 Nicosia workshop, Cyprus Mail reports. The European Climate Pact activity formed part of Laou Laou Open Streets. These were participants' ideas, not approved street works.
Event: 20 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Cyprus Mail source ↗
Türkiye · Anatolia · Watch
Hakan Fidan says efforts are being made to ease tensions between Saudi Arabia and the Houthis, according to Shafaq's account of his NTV interview. He also called for new proposals to break the impasse in US–Iran talks. No ceasefire or diplomatic agreement was announced in that report.
Source published: 19 Sep 2026 22:39 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Shafaq News source ↗
Iraq · Kurdistan Region · Context
Shafaq News reports that the Kurdistan Regional Government announced 236 new schools and kindergartens for 2026–27, alongside 476 additional classrooms and renovations at 2,650 institutions. The government says more than 1.75 million pupils are due to attend school.
Source published: 19 Sep 2026 09:42 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Shafaq News source ↗
Saudi Arabia · Arabian Peninsula · Watch
The Saudi-led coalition subsequently said it intercepted a Houthi ballistic missile during the September 19 alerts. The Houthis claimed attacks on Riyadh. Reuters independently reported explosions and imagery showing smoke and flames in the Riyadh area, but that observation does not establish the cause or substantiate the claimed targets. The warnings were later lifted.
Event: 19 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Reuters via KSL source ↗
Türkiye · Anatolia · Watch
Türkiye's Banking Regulation and Supervision Agency says it revoked the operating licence of Bank Mellat's Istanbul branch in a decision dated September 18. The regulator's public notice identifies the decision but does not state a political rationale or describe its practical effect on customers and transactions.
Event: 18 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Corroborated reporting
Banking Regulation and Supervision Agency of Türkiye source ↗
Lebanon · Levant · Watch
IMF staff welcomed amendments to Lebanon's Bank Resolution Law after a September 15–18 visit, but called for further changes to the Financial Stabilization and Deposits Recovery Law. Staff said shareholders and junior creditors should absorb losses before depositors. The statement announces no new financing agreement.
Source published: 18 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Primary source
International Monetary Fund source ↗
Iran · Iranian Plateau · Watch
The US State Department said it approved visas for Iran’s core delegation and essential staff to attend next week’s UN General Assembly meetings in New York. Associated Press reports that US officials identified President Masoud Pezeshkian and Foreign Minister Abbas Araghchi as members of that delegation. The decision permits attendance under host-country obligations; it does not establish that US–Iran talks will occur or that policy has changed.
Source published: 17 Sep 2026 18:38 UTC · Evidence: Attributed claim
Associated Press source ↗
Saudi Arabia · Arabian Peninsula · Watch
Saudi civil defense said debris from an intercepted Houthi drone killed one person and injured two others in Taif province. Its statement did not say when the incident occurred. AP notes that Saudi Arabia had reported stopping a drone aimed at Mecca the previous day, but the available report does not establish that the incidents were the same.
Reported: 17 Sep 2026 (approximate) · Evidence: Attributed claim
Associated Press source ↗
Palestine · Gaza Strip · Watch
Qatar's Foreign Ministry says it signed an agreement with the United Nations to provide about 1.3 million litres of fuel for critical health services and essential humanitarian operations in the Gaza Strip. The announcement describes the grant agreement; it does not independently establish delivery, distribution or the effect on services.
Source published: 17 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Primary source
Qatar Ministry of Foreign Affairs source ↗
Iran · Iranian Plateau · Watch
Reuters reports, citing three Iranian sources familiar with the matter, that China privately asked Iran to use its influence with Yemen’s Houthi movement after Saudi Arabia sought Beijing’s help. The sources said China was concerned about further spillover around regional energy routes. The reported message and its delivery have not been publicly confirmed by all parties.
Reported: 17 Sep 2026 (approximate) · Evidence: Attributed claim
Reuters via Internazionale source ↗
Palestine · West Bank · Watch
AP reports that Israel will open bidding for 2,167 additional homes in the E1 settlement project east of Jerusalem, bringing the project total to 3,401 units. Palestinian officials and the Israeli rights group Ir Amim opposed the plan; the prime minister’s office did not respond to AP’s request for comment.
Reported: 17 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Associated Press source ↗
Lebanon · Levant · Watch
France’s UN ambassador, Jerome Bonnafont, told Arab News that Paris is preparing proposals for an international presence in Lebanon after UNIFIL’s current mandate. The interview reports that the September 17 preparatory meeting took place. These are diplomatic plans, not an agreed successor mission or a funding commitment.
Reported: 17 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Arab News source ↗
Jordan · Levant · Watch
Jordan and France said their leaders witnessed the signing of a defence cooperation agreement in Paris. The joint statements describe it as a framework for defence and security cooperation; they do not specify deployments, procurement, or new operational commitments.
Event: 17 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Primary source
Jordan News Agency (Petra) source ↗
Iran · Iranian Plateau · Watch
A UN Human Rights Council-commissioned fact-finding mission said it found reasonable grounds to believe two US strikes in Iran on 28 February were indiscriminate attacks amounting to war crimes. The mission’s findings are not a court judgment. AP reports US Central Command denied responsibility for the Lamerd strike and the US administration had not responded to its request for comment on the report.
Source published: 17 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Associated Press source ↗
Syria · Levant · Watch
Syria’s state news agency says the People’s Assembly approved a bill to abolish the Counter-Terrorism Court established in 2012 and address the legal effects of its rulings. The report is an official account of the legislative decision; implementation details remain to be seen.
Reported: 16 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Corroborated reporting
Syrian Arab News Agency (SANA) source ↗
Saudi Arabia · Arabian Peninsula · Watch
Saudi Arabia said it intercepted a drone it said was headed toward Mecca. The Houthis denied responsibility. No damage or casualties were reported in the inspected Associated Press report.
Reported: 16 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Associated Press source ↗
Saudi Arabia · Arabian Peninsula · Watch
The Associated Press, citing two unnamed regional officials, reported that Saudi Arabia had asked France, Britain, Pakistan and Egypt about air-defense support amid Houthi missile and drone attacks. Pakistani and Turkish officials told AP they had not received a Saudi request. Saudi officials did not respond to AP's request for comment.
Source published: 16 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Associated Press source ↗
Palestine · Gaza Strip · High
Reuters reported at least 12 people killed and 14 injured after a war-damaged residential building collapsed in Gaza City. A later Associated Press report cited 21 deaths and 14 injuries. Both describe an ongoing rescue, and the casualty total remains unsettled.
Reported: 16 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Disputed account
Associated Press source ↗
Yemen · Arabian Peninsula · High
UNHCR said at a 20 October Geneva briefing that more than 250,000 people had been internally displaced within Yemen between 1 August and 17 October, compared with its previous calculated figure of 213,000. Separately, Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) reported on 21 October that more than 230,000 people had been displaced from Yemen’s western coast since September. These agency estimates cover different periods and scopes and are not a reconciled count.
Source published: 15 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
UN Geneva / UNHCR source ↗
Egypt · Eastern Mediterranean · Watch
Egyptian President Abdel Fattah el-Sissi and Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman said their talks covered the freedom and security of navigation in the Red Sea. The statement is attributed to the Egyptian presidency.
Reported: 15 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Reuters via MarketScreener source ↗
Jordan · Levant · Watch
Jordan's official news agency reported 14 people were injured in an ammonia leak during maintenance in Aqaba. Reuters and the company involved reported 11. Officials and the company said the leak was contained; the differing injury counts remain unresolved.
Reported: 14 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Disputed account
Jordan News Agency (Petra) source ↗
Saudi Arabia · Arabian Peninsula · High
Saudi coalition spokesperson Turki Al-Malki said attacks on September 14 injured 13 civilians and damaged homes and vehicles. The casualty count is an official claim reported by Arab News and has not been independently verified by Mideast Signal.
Event: 14 Sep 2026 · Evidence: Attributed claim
Arab News source ↗